top of page
Ironwood Eagle's Eye

Wrestler Brothers

Jessica Serrano

Staff Reporter

“The main thing is to make history, not to write it”.- Otto von Bismarck

Wrestling this year had a good season. They won the Division 2 AIA Team Wrestling Championship. Also the two brothers broke history this year. Pablo and Julian Macias are the first pair of brothers to win a state title together in Ironwood history in any sport. Pablo has been at Ironwood since his freshman year. This is Julian’s first year at Ironwood. We asked what made them want to do wrestling Pablo said, “Nothing really made me want to do wrestling, my dad was the one who put me in the sport. From there I just stuck with it. Julian said, “I was put into wrestling at a young age and grew to love the sport”. We also asked them how they felt about being the first pair of brothers to win a state title together in Ironwood history in any sport. Pablo said, “It is a good feeling knowing someone that worked as hard as me was able to achieve the same goal I had”. Julian said, “I was surprised to learn this but it feels good knowing me and my brother made history”. I asked both brothers who were the people to support them. Pablo said, “ My friends, parents, and especially my brother who pushes me to show up and give my hundred percent everyday. Julian said, “My family, friends, and coaches”. How did the brothers prepare for the Division 2 AIA Team Wrestling Championship? Pablo said, “I just worked hard and put my best effort in”. The last question we asked was: What are your plans for next year? Pablo said,“ Win another state title”. Julian said “I plan to take state again and really set a name for myself”.

Image Credit: IHS Yearbook, IHS Wrestling



4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page