top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

Mindy Nguyen and The Spy at the Jeu de Paume

Trinity Clark

Editor-In-Chief

“I pushed away art for the longest time (was art good enough for me, or was I good enough for art?), but it wasn't until recently where I can fully say that I've embraced art as a part of myself.” Mindy Nguyen is an IB Advanced Art senior that has her artwork displayed at the The Shemer Art Center and Museum and won the "The Linton-Barnhill Award" and "The Tanner-Whyman Scholarship Award."

Having been inspired by the likes of Rose Valland, who was a French assistant curator during the German occupation of WWII that became a spy and risked her life for the preservation of art. Based on Valland’s story, which inspired Nguyen to challenge the idea that she cannot be fearsome due to her 5’4” stature, Nguyen created the piece The Spy at the Jeu de Paume. The 12”x12” piece by Nguyen sold for $300 at the Annual Shemer Art Center New Horizons High School Exhibition, which featured 28 high schools and a variety of talented student artists.

The Spy at the Jeu de Paume will be on display in the museum until February 18th and the virtual reception can still be viewed at shemerartcenter.org. Nguyen, before this event, never actually considered herself an artist. In an interview, she stated, “Most people get told by friends, family, and strangers that choosing art as a career isn't a wise choice. Most people grow up seeing STEM being valued more than the arts. Growing up in gifted and honor programs, I felt pressured to excel in STEM subjects to be the most "successful".” In an environment where the arts do not always receive the recognition they deserve, it was difficult for Nguyen to focus on her abilities and take it seriously.

Furthermore, Nguyen felt as though there was only room in her family for one artist and that the role had already been claimed by her sister. Nguyen stated that, “My older sister was a huge influence of mine because she had been drawing since I was born. I never considered myself to be an artist because, in my mind, my sister was the "designated artist" of the family, so I had to find a skill/interest of my own.” Even while believing this, however, Nguyen continued to work on her art skills both through school projects and on her own time. Soon enough, she was recognized by her peers as an artist and she even won the "Best Artist" superlative in 8th grade and her senior year. This had still not convinced Nguyen, though.

The artwork one creates is extremely important because it is not usually made for others. As Nguyen put it, “Art is an extension of the self, so perhaps the fact that I rejected it for a long time shows how much I was struggling to accept myself as a person.” This internal struggle within her did not last forever, though. With these recent achievements, Nguyen has found herself and accepted art as a part of her being. “I feel honored to be recognized as an artist, first and foremost. It almost feels like I've really settled into my identity, and for the first time, I feel wholly unashamed about it. Receiving these awards and recognition only encourages me to continue to grow, both in my artistic ambitions and my confidence.”

In the future, Nguyen wants to show others that art is an important aspect in everyone’s lives. While she has no set career plan yet, Nguyen has decided to seek a career that can fulfill all of her interests, including psychology and technology, and truly make a difference in the art world. Nguyen’s story of self-discovery is truly beautiful and one that many other student artists can look up to. Congratulations to Mindy Nguyen on behalf of The Eagle’s Eye newspaper for furthering as a person and becoming an artist that Ironwood will surely remember.

Image Credit: Mindy Nguyen



4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page