top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

The Eagle's Eye Send-Offs

Grace Goldmeer

Staff Reporter

High school was scary but fear often leads to the best kind of fun. It is like the anxiety you feel getting on a roller coaster or before you perform on stage. This fear shows that it matters to you and that you are experiencing growth. The personal development and growth I have experienced these past four years is my biggest high school achievement.

I would do everything differently if I could. But I am glad that I can not go back and save myself from the pain of losing friends and starting over, of getting my heart broken and being manipulated by my own emotions. As hard as all of these things were, they allowed me to make the next right decision until I found where I was happy and who I was happy with. A few tips I would have given myself are to take advantage of your time, make friends, go to the dance, join the club, ask questions, and to live how you want to before you are too scared to try.

Choir became a safe spot, color guard became a time to let loose and not think about anything else, newspaper taught me the importance of friendship and to acknowledge myself.

I learned to appreciate the moments as they were taking place and not after they happened. I made memories. I let go of my fear and had fun. I built relationships with teachers who inspire me and my peers who do the same. The experiences and opportunities that high school presented me with and the people in my life who guided me on my way have helped make me into who I am and set my goals high for who I want to be.

As I enter the next chapter of my life I will try to follow my own advice through my fear of change and the excitement of whatever tomorrow brings. Change is always scary but as I get older I have noticed that people fear it more than they should, I do too. But I know where I am going and I will not forget the path I am taking to get where I want to be or the people who got me there. Thank you Ironwood for being part of my path and thank you to everyone in it who makes it “just better here”.

Marina Reavis

Staff Reporter

Let me start by saying thank you. This class has been an amazing experience and one that I never saw coming. As some of you may know, this was my first year at Ironwood High School, not to mention I transferred halfway through the first semester, so having this class was a lifesaver for me. I had a place to eat lunch surrounded by people who soon became my friends. This class was creative, challenging, and a bit weird at times- I mean that in the best way possible! I also found my passion for journalism here, and I hope to be a part of my college’s newspaper crew too, though I am sure it will not be nearly as entertaining as this one. Thank you Mr. Rusnac for your goofy personality and questionable relationship advice. You are the only tolerable teacher at this school. Thank you to all the newsies, you guys are amazing! I hope we can stay in touch even after we go our separate ways. Ok, now I can leave with no regrets 😉.

Image Credit: Annie Spratt on Unsplash


7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page