top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

Saying Goodbye Is Important

Trinity Clark

Editor-In-Chief

Before the COVID-19 Pandemic took the world by storm, I did not realize how important the interaction of saying goodbye is. I became quite aware of this after school went online and because of my job at one the local senior homes.

I am sure many students at Ironwood can relate to the sad feeling that comes when we think of everything that ended abruptly last school year. Whether you were a part of a club, a sport, had a class you loved, or became close to a student of the senior class, you know that these things will not be exactly the same again. Of course, this is always how it has been though. The biggest difference is that we did not have time to acknowledge the good things we would no longer have.

To have that final interaction, that time to say farewell, can make conclusions easier. It is a clear indicator that you have done all you could, which consoles the part of our brains that say, “What if I had done more?” This interaction also can give an opportunity to plan for the future. For example, friends will exchange numbers at the end of class just to be sure the option to each other is there. Making the decision to take a piece of what you loved about something can help motivate a person. They will feel less like they lost what they cared for and more like they already gained what they could from it and now it is time for bigger and better things.

Saying goodbye to people has always been harder than anything else for me, and, based on what I have seen at my care center, I think many people would agree. Due to COVID-19 guidelines, there are times when family members are unable to see their ill until they are taking their last breaths or not at all. One example that comes to mind was a resident whose family lived in Alabama. This resident was put on hospice care and did not have much time. The family was called, but, because they were from out of state, they would have to find a way to plan exactly when to come and see the resident. Basically, right after they would be required to quarantine in Arizona for two weeks before returning home. There was no way to know when the resident would be gone exactly so the family never got to be there when the resident passed. Just the thought of this brings me extraordinary sadness.

The point of me writing this editorial was not to depress my audience, even though I may have done so despite this. Mostly, what I want to say is that sad feeling that may come to you when you think of what you did not say goodbye to is not an uncommon one. I understand that feeling and it is valid. Though, try not to let it overcome you. Saying goodbye is a good way to end things, however, not saying goodbye does not mean what you went through was any less important. Our experiences make us stronger and with the current situation I have started saying, “I am strong enough to remember, to be sad, to regret, and still keep going despite this.”

Image Credit: Mantas Hesthaven on Unsplash


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page