top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

Reason to Rewatch The Aristocats

Bianca Harkless

Editor-In-Chief

Recently, I rewatched The Aristocats movie. I forgot how underrated it was. With amazing songs like “Everyone Wants to Be A Cat” and “Scales and Arpeggios”, there is no way to question why I absolutely loved this movie when I was younger. What child would not love a beautifully animated movie about a cat trying to get her kittens home all while singing. Talk about an underrated movie.

The movie has such iconic characters too. The graceful cat named Duchess, the orange alley cat who comes in to save the day, Thomas O’Malley, and Duchess’ only white kitten with a pink bow named Marie, who is undeniably the sassiest character in the whole movie. That is also neglecting the other two playful kittens and the colorful cast of side characters, my favorite of which being a horse named Frou-Frou. All the characters have funny little comments here and there and some of the most iconic Disney lines ever.

Lines like “Ladies don’t start fights, they finish them.” and “Because I am a lady, that’s why.” bring a different dimension to the movie and will stay with viewers long after they finish watching the movie. There is also a series of pick up lines from Thomas O’Malley to Duchess that are simply too good to pass up. Not to mention the movie includes many songs that pop into peoples’ heads when they think of classic Disney songs.

The movie shows a healthy family relationship and continues to even after Thomas joins them. On more than one occasion throughout the movie, he risks his life to save one of Duchess’ kittens and invites them to a place where he knows they will be safe. He introduces them to his friends who help provide the kittens with entertainment and teaches them new skills. Thomas works hard to ensure that Duchess and her kitchen will get back to her owners home, even though there is no reward known for getting them back home safely. Duchess also does whatever she can to protect her kittens and considering Disney’s habit of killing off parents and showcasing dysfunctional families, it is refreshing.

The Aristocats was one of my favorite movies when I was younger and I completely forgot about it for years. When I found it on Disney+ I remembered just how much I liked it and found that the same was still true. I still like the movie for the same reasons and even found some more I like. I encourage everyone to go watch this amazing, deeply underrated movie.

Image Credit: Echo on Unsplash


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page