top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

Pushing Through the Hard Times

Victoria Harkless

Staff Reporter

I joked a LOT about COVID-19, better known as the Coronavirus, before we were put on Corona-cation. As I am sure you can tell, I am still joking about it.

By Corona-cation, I mean the protective quarantine that has taken us out of school and taken many people out of work. One way I am getting through it is by joking. Like most people, I have spent a fair amount of time on TikTok during the break and have seen a couple jokes, though most have been about the senior class being upset about the cancelations of school functions or the over buying of toilet paper and hoarding of other supplies. Even with these to entertain me though, it has been a struggle to stay positive with the recent turn of events.

Another way I have attempted to stay positive, despite the Corona-cation, is binge watching my favorite shows and movies on Netflix and Disney+. It provides a temporary escape when you are able to immerse yourself in the world of a character, even if that world is not perfect. It also can provide background noise while you work on online school. The noise almost makes it feel like you are at school and not doing the work from the comfort of your own bed.

For a definitive low note, my dog (who was nine) died. I got Princess, my chihuahua, for my birthday and picked her out by myself. Despite being my dog, she became best friends with my grandpa who we lost in 2016, this year we lost her at around the same time of the year. This, on top of the current events, has made for an even worse reaction. My family and I also have another ill dog who had to be put down on the same day, however, we are working together to get through this difficult time.

On a brighter note, I have taken the time off to help me form a routine. I wake up and do nothing for a little bit, then I start my school work and do that for a while. At some point during the day, I go on a 2.5 mile walk with a small group of my friends or family. It gives us an excuse to get outside and enjoy the pleasant weather.

My advice would be to use this time wisely. It is the most time you will have with limited work, so use it to catch up on work that is missing. Some teachers are letting students do work for full or partial credit and if there is a problem with limited internet access most teachers are willing to work with students.

While this is a low point there are a couple ways to avoid the disappointment and other emotions that come along with the quarantine (AKA Corona-Cation); being active, watching your favorite shows and getting into a routine are all ways to keep your spirits up. While this is a strange time, hopefully things will get back to normal soon.

8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page