top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

Norse Mythology: The Nine Realms

Christopher Byassee

Staff Reporter

Norse mythology is considered to be a myth but there is more than just Thor, Loki, and Odin. There is a whole religion based around it, called Asatru also known as Paganism.

They have several worlds, named "The Nine Realms.” Norse cosmology divides the universe into nine realms. The center of the universe is the great world-tree Yggdrasil and the Nine Realms either spread out from the tree or existed in levels stretching from the roots down and, marginally, side-to-side. The nine realms are Niflheim, Muspelheim, Asgard, Midgard, Jotunheim, Vanaheim, Alfheim, Svartalfheim, and Helheim.

Asgard is where all the gods sit, such as Odin, the king. In Asgard, there is a special place called “Valhalla” where humans who have died from battle (cancer, war, etc.) go to celebrate. Along with Odin, sit Thor and Loki, his two sons, and many more.

Midgard is Earth where we reside, not much of our existence is important in this religion, we just live here.

The realm of Nidavellier/Svartalfheim was below Midgard, deep in the earth, and the home of the dwarves who toiled there at their forges. It is a dark, smoky place lit only by the fires from the forge and the torches on the walls. The gods seem to have decreed the realm of the dwarves based on their origin.

Niflheim is a cold, dark, misty world of the dead ruled by the goddess of Hel.

Jotunheim is home to the frost giants but also where Loki was born, who is known as the son of the frost giant king. However, Odin altered Loki’s appearance and “adopted” him to be a part of the gods. He is now known as the “god of mischief.”

Vanaheim is the home of the Vanir, the other family of Norse gods who are associated with fertility and magic. The Aesir went to war with the Vanir but why is unclear. It may be that the war was fought over various practices of the Vanir that the Aesir considered unacceptable. For instance, the Vanir were allowing incest and practicing a kind of magic the Aesir thought was dishonorable. The war was concluded by a peace treaty in which hostages from the Aesir side of people were exchanged and the Vanir sea god Njord, and his two children, Freyr and Frejya went to live in Asgard.

Alfheim also exists in the heavens not too far from Asgard. This is the home of the light (or bright) elves and after Snorri, all the elves. It is presided over by the Vanir god Freyr, one of the hostages sent from Vanaheim to Asgard at the end of the war. The elves are magical beings, bright and beautiful, who inspired the arts, music, and creativity.

Hel (sometimes known as Helheim) is a dark, gloomy realm presided over by Hel, daughter of Loki, and sister of the Midgard serpent, and Fenrir the wolf. When Loki's children were born, Odin knew they would cause trouble and sought to place each one where it would do the least harm. He placed the Midgard serpent in the seas of the world, had Fenrir chained up, and threw Hel into a dark realm beneath the roots of Yggdrasil. This realm was then surrounded by a wall with only one gate and could only be reached by traveling downhill on a long, long path (known as Helveg – the way or road to Hel) and crossing a dangerous river of weapons.

The realm of Nidavellier/Svartalfheim was below Midgard, deep in the earth, and the home of the dwarves who toiled there at their forges. It is a dark, smoky place lit only by the fires from the forge and the torches on the walls. The gods seem to have decreed the realm of the dwarves based on their origin. Norse mythology also has something called the “Nine Noble Virtues” which is similar to the “ 10 commandments.”

Norse mythology also has something called the ‘Nine Noble Virtues,’ similar to the 10 commandments. The Nine Noble Virtues includes courage: I will face my fears and defend my family and kindred from all dangers. Discipline: I will do what is necessary and right of my own accord without bribe or threat. Fidelity: I am true to my family, friends, and kindred to those I pledge my services to. Honor: I stand by my oaths and honor my ancestors by keeping my name pure among my kindred. Hospitality: I share health, food, and drinks with friends, my kindred, and those weary travelers at my door. Industressines: I take joy in labor and hold nothing back in the work I have pledged to do. Perseverance: I press on against all odds until my goal is met and the task is finished. Self-reliance; truth: I seek the truth even though it may be a hard truth. I speak true words or I stand in silence. I defend the truth from those who do not honor it.

These elements are the core of Norse mythology, along with stories of gods and otherworldly beings.

Image Credit: www.ancient-origins.net



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page