top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

My Hair My Rules

Joleen Cope

Staff Reporter

It amazes me that the way someone dyes their hair is seemingly the concern of other people and how they see you as a person.

I started dying my hair half and half (meaning one side is one color and the other is a different color) not too long ago, and the overall response was positive, but there are always those who need to open their mouths. I got many compliments on my hair and how I dyed it, which did drain out those few negative comments that came along the way as well. Though there were quite a few people who had some judgments on my hair, I could not care less because I love how my hair turned out. Many have asked why I would want to dye my hair in the first place and that is a valid question, although it is often not said in a nice way.

During quarantine was when everyone was doing things to the way they dress, and more popularly, the color and style of their hair. I started to get bored of my hair, especially during this time, and I cut my bangs to have something different going on. This definitely did good for a minute but soon enough I got bored of that. The next thing I had not done by then was dying my hair. I loved my natural hair color but I kind of got tired of it. So, when I first dyed my hair, I turned to purple hair dye.l and dyed the left side of my hair purple.

People also always wonder why I did not just dye my whole head one color. It probably would have looked just as good, but I honestly did not want all of my hair to be an unnatural color, so split dying it seemed like a happy middle. The split dye look also just looks a lot cooler to me. My parents did not think it would look as good as it does so I had to prove them wrong on that one. I have been using semi-permanent hair dye so it is ashes out at some point. Once the purple washed out quite a bit I dyed it red, which is how it is now. In general, many people respond nicely to those who dye their hair, but the few that do need to learn to keep their feelings to themselves or ask their questions in a respectful manner.

I love how my hair has turned out so far and cannot wait to dye it a new color next. It is always a tough decision to make as I will be stuck with it for a few weeks, but it is so fun having new hair every time the last one washes out. If you have something negative to say about the way I dye my hair, worry about your own problems because many agree that it looks good and you are just jealous.

Image Credit: Wix.com


2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page