top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

My Favorite Old Disney Movie

Bianca Harkless

Editor-In-Chief

Everyone watched Disney movies growing up, and I do not mean the traditional Princess movie, but rather the Disney Channel Original movies that everyone had memories of. Although there are many great movies like The Color Of Friendship, The Thirteenth Year, Sky High, and any movie in The Mighty Ducks franchise, the best movie has to be Den Brother.

For all of those who have no idea what it is I am talking about, Den Brother is a 2010 movie where a star hockey player takes over his little sister’s Bumble Bee Troop in order to stop their troop from being dissolved, and in turn, they help him get a date with a senior Bumble Bee. It is beyond cheesy, I know.

If this movie is so cheesy, why do I hold it in such a high regard? To be honest, I do not have an answer to that question. I remember watching it for the first time and being utterly enthralled by the simple plot and the characters, though now I find them much more annoying than I once did. Though the characters drive me slightly crazy and the outfits remind me a little too much of 2010, nothing can seemingly replace this movie for me.

This is the perfect movie to watch if you want something just to cheer you up or you need sound in the background of something. It is heartfelt and shows what the old Disney Channel Original movies were all about- feel good vibes and cheesy tropes about caring and unity. While it might not be as serious or showcase as serious a message as some movies, sometimes you just need a movie you can put on and not have to think about the long term effects or how the movie plays into real life.

Recently I found myself looking back into movies from my childhood and have found that I deeply enjoy watching them, even if they are not as perfect as I thought they were when I was younger. I highly suggest everyone looks on Disney+ and sees if they have any old movies they have not watched in a while, and give it a watch. Most of them will not make you as stressed out as some of the movies which come out in current day, and who knows, maybe you will rekindle your love for a movie.

Image Credit: Waldemar Brandt on Unsplash


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page