top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

Mother's Day Spotlights

Trinity Clark

Assistant Editor-In-Chief

God knew what he was doing when he made you my mom.

I would say that you have gotten me through all my hardships, but thanks to you, mom, I have not had anything too hard happen to me. I do not mean to say you have spoiled me (though you definitely have so thank you) but rather that you helped me so much through them I do not consider these events hardships. You are so funny, and I always tell you what is on my mind because I trust in your infinite knowledge immensely. I know you are my biggest supporter and I hope you know that I am yours as well!

You are bestest friend madre. Happy Mother’s Day!

Marina Reavis

Staff Reporter


Dear mom,

Happy Mother's Day! How could I forget the one day you have been reminding everyone about. Do not worry, I got you a gift, it is your favorite leggings. I hope today is amazing, or as amazing as quarantine can be. You are the best cook I know. Your curry is amazing, and I cannot get enough of your noodles. I know that things have been tough, but I hope this will be a new chapter in your life. You are the worst dancer I know, but you are really funny so that makes up for it. I know I am not great at this cheesy stuff, but I am thankful for you and I love you a lot.    ありがとう

Victoria Harkless

Staff Reporter

There are a lot of different nicknames for moms: mom, mama, mother, and mum are among the most common, but in my family we use other ones like spawn-point, mother-ship and a personal favorite of mine, “My Mom”. It is no secret my mom is a single parent, and I don’t have a good relationship with my father, so Mother’s Day tends to be an interesting day.

For starters we basically celebrate Mother's Day twice because we celebrate my mom and grandma on father’s day as well. My grandma, Dona, has also played a key role in my life. She (and my grandpa) helped my mom out when my siblings and I were younger and my mom was going to school to become a teacher. Between her and my mom they raised three daughters without much help from my father’s side.

The older I have gotten the more I appreciate everything my mom and grandma do. My grandma runs the house, cooks and has a full time job. My mom cooks on occasions, and is a special education teacher as well as a softball coach at the school she works at. They have taught me pretty much everything I know and always encourage me to do what I want within reason.

They influence my choices everyday and push me to be a better student and person.

Image Credit: Trinity Clark, Marina Reavis, and Bianca and Victoria Harkless


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page