top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

McKinney's Advice For What To Do While in Quarantine

Jeremiah McKinney

Staff Reporter

This whole COVID-19 thing really escalated, did it not? It went from making jokes about bats, anteaters, and snakes (or whatever animal this actually came from) to being quarantined in our houses for who knows how long. Well, if I cannot control the real world, I will opt for a world that is not so real, and maybe a bit blocky:

Minecraft! This game was first revealed to me in fourth grade, when my friends would talk about mine shafts, dungeons, and The End. I, of course, had no idea what they were talking about, so I eventually looked Minecraft up on YouTube, and was immediately hooked on people like Tobuscus and PopularMMOs. From that point on, so much of my childhood revolved around watching people play Minecraft until about eighth grade or Freshman year, when I finally bought Minecraft for myself. I spent so much time exploring, mining, and building, and it was amazing! I loved every second of it, but like many people around 2016-18, I ended up stopping playing Minecraft.

I did keep up with the continuous updates and, with the recent developments, I started playing again. Somehow, Minecraft has actually managed to be better than my nostalgic memories. I found a village (they look so much better now!) at the base of a mountain right next to spawn, and decided to build my house just outside of it. So, I built a two-story house just south of this village. Then, I constructed a custom tree just next to the house and covered the surrounding hills with farmland. Soon, I want to surround the village with a wall to keep pesky hostile mobs out and replace the major pathways with better looking stone roads. Even though the buildings in villages have received major aesthetic improvements, I still want to give the village a bit of a remodel. Basically, I have a lot of plans.

Enough of me nerding out about one of my favorite games. Why does this all matter? The point I am trying to get across is that there is always something to do during the quarantine, even if it may not be productive. Try to indulge in some of your past hobbies, or learn some new ones. These hobbies can be anything you want! It may take some trial and error before you discover a handful of things you really enjoy, but think of all the variety in activities you will have to keep yourself entertained.

Most importantly, stay safe. It is so imperative that you follow the quarantine and keep COVID-19 from spreading. Remember to wash your hands frequently, drink plenty of water, and go hang out in your yard for some precious sunlight. Be careful and have fun, Eagles!

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page