top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

Learning The Good and Bad Stress of Driving

Mathew Futch

Staff Reporter

Driving is something that is both the most exciting and stressful transition for many students. Driving is almost a necessity in today's society because it makes travel for everyone much faster by a significant amount, so avoiding it is nearly impossible.

Driving is stressful, and there is no doubt about it. Your car can be a very dangerous weapon, which is why traffic laws exist. Though I find it strange when I ask any adult and they break them from time to time, which does make children think that they can break them. As for me, I observed my parents driving when I was studying for my permit and noticed a lot of rules being broken, so I can only imagine other people do as well. This has made me personally stressed since I was not sure on what rules were actually important. Children think that driving is just something you can pick up instead of something you learn. In fact, I have heard many stories about kids driving before 16.

Another issue I have with driving is the insane amount of stress it causes me. According to medlineplus.gov, “Stress is your body's reaction to a challenge or demand. In short bursts, stress can be positive, such as when it helps you avoid danger or meet a deadline. But when stress lasts for a long time, it may harm your health.” Bad stress is commonly referred to as anxiety as good stress is what people call a gut feeling. You want one and not the other. Anxiety leads to hesitation and hesitation leads to accidents. My generation has difficulty separating these two types of stress, but if we are to drive, it is a skill we need

If you are constantly in a car, it is likely that you have seen a lot of close accidents. This is when those with gut feelings take action, and students need to be able to react to people who are freaking out and not following traffic laws. I think parents need to make their kids confident when driving rather than freak them out more. Problem-solving is very much needed when it comes to driving. You cannot phone a friend for help when you are about to crash. Therefore, your full attention needs to be on driving. Being tired, drunk or texting take away these reflexes, so I also think it is important to instill those ideas too.

Driving was an interesting experience, I am learning to become more confident in a low populated neighborhood so I can get a handle on things and it is not a bad way to start. Everyone should move at their own pace when it comes to driving so we have less lunatics on the road.

Image Credit: ridesharecentral.com


3 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page