top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

Isolated But Not Alone

Grace Goldmeer

Staff Reporter

After the extended break and the stay at home order, most students are stuck at home struggling with the lack of closure to their year and trying to keep busy. It has been no different in my household.

Online schooling has been a struggle because of how little there is to do, causing me to feel a lack of motivation. To combat that I have been setting aside a specific time and place to do my work for the day. For me it is 10:00 to 11:00 in the dining room. Carson, my brother, does his work in the loft from 9:30 to 10:30.

We have limited how much we take in from the news daily because of how overwhelmingly negative it is and try to separate from screens completely for a little bit each day. By doing an old puzzle we found in a cabinet or doing a little arts and crafts activity. My mom and I brought home rocks to paint with half-dried acrylic paint we already had. She painted a mountain scene, my brother did paint drips, and I painted a bee. Each day the Goldmeer house tries to do something to keep the house tidy; we will take turns trading chores, cooking dinner, doing the dishes, sweeping the floors and more. I washed all of the cars in the driveway one day and took a few long walks another.

Being stuck in the house with your family can be overwhelming, so having alone time can be just as good as spending time with others. I have been able to pick up a couple books that I have been meaning to read. I have also tried to pick up journaling.

But of course when boredom sets in I will take time to message friends online or via text to make sure everyone is healthy and coping well with the separation from their everyday lives. My cousins and I are close, so I have been video chatting with them and that will eat up some time. Whatever keeps your mind active and you busy is a good quarantine activity.

Although this “corona vacation” is scary, it gives me a chance to see how similar everyone is and to understand that while we are isolated, we are not alone.

16 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page