top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

Film Forecast: Thor Ragnarok

Victoria Harkless

Staff Reporter

The Marvel franchise has done exceedingly well in the last couple of years, with The Avengers being one of the most popular groups. I found it interesting that I had only ever watched a few independent movies, most of which were for my favorite Avenger. When I had this realization, I decided it was time for me to watch one of the most iconic Marvel movies, Thor: Ragnarok.

Thor: Ragnarok came out in 2017 and featured fan favorites like Thor, Loki, and Dr. Strange. With that being said, one of my favorite characters is Loki, so I really enjoyed this film. This film follows a relatively simple plot. It starts with Thor and Loki having to find their father Odin, who Loki took out of Asgard so he could impersonate him and live his lavish lifestyle, all while Thor is trying to stop something called Ragnarok. Loki did not do the things Odin normally did, leaving part of the Asgardian empire vulnerable for attack. They must find Odin to fix it.

When they find Odin (spoiler warning), he is dying and within five minutes of them reuniting, he dies, leaving a way for something more sinister to take his place. The film features a female villain Helena. She helped Odin get the realms that are part of the Asgardian empire and then banished her. The movie follows her taking over control of Asgard, and Thor and Loki must regain control. I can assume we all know how this movie ends.

There were moments of very high humor and moments where the movies seemed to drag on and on. A lot of memes came out of the film, and many people within the Marvel fandom make the same jokes seen within the movies. I will say it did take me several tries to actually watch this movie because I fell asleep while watching it several times. Maybe it is because Thor is not my favorite character from the franchise but I just feel like there were better movies.

I would give this movie a seven out of ten. Honestly, it was not my favorite in terms of solo movies. It was kind of disappointing because so many people said it was so good when really the only good parts of the movie were humorous. Still, they were not enough to carry the movie. While it sounds like I did not enjoy it, I did actually like it but I feel there are better Marvel movies to watch.

I do suggest watching it on your own and developing your opinion on it; do not let me discourage you from it!

Image Credit: Jonathan Bowers on Unsplash


1 view0 comments

Комментарии


bottom of page