top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

Film Forecast: Tangled

Victoria Harkless

Assistant Editor-In-Chief

I, like everyone else, love to watch movies. Over the span of this year, I plan to use this column to review movies so I can tell you if it is worth watching or not. During the time of the pandemic, I plan to focus on movies that can be found on streaming services, specifically Netflix, Hulu and Disney+. To get this column started, I will be talking about a personal favorite of mine, the 2010 Disney film Tangled.

The film follows the epic adventure of an eighteen-year-old girl, Rapunzel, who, spoiler alert, is the lost or rather stolen princess from the kingdom of Corona. In the beginning of the movie, she meets a man named Flynn Rider, who takes her on said adventure. When the movie begins, Rapunzel and Flynn are complete strangers and Flynn wants nothing to do with the stolen princess but by the end of the movie Flynn is willing to give up the thing he cares about the most in order to stay with her.

One thing that sets this movie apart is the phenomenal soundtrack. With iconic Disney songs such as “I’ve Got a Dream” and “At Last I See The Light” it is hard to say this is not one of the best soundtracks. In “I’ve Got a Dream” there is a witty section sung by Flynn Rider after being threatened by a group of criminals while they are singing about their hopes and dreams. After the threat, he sings about how he has dreams but they are not as “touchy feely…” and how they happen somewhere warm and sunny where he is all alone. Then “At last I see the light” is an incredibly heartfelt song, where (in true Disney fashion) Flynn and Repunzel realize they love each other. This scene is only made better by the incredible art in the scene.

The art in the movie is inspiring. With a constant color scheme of beautiful purples and pinks it provides a certain feeling of normality. The details in the movie are also amazing, for instance in one scene you can see the outline of Rapunzel in the white of Flynn’s eyes. There are also several places where their hair appears to have strands rather than a large clump, that is also helped along by their hair having movement when they move.

I could go on and on about this movie but I think it would be best if I stop here. I do not know what I am doing for the next instalment but I am sure it will be more of a review and less of me explaining why “Tangled” is the best Disney movie.

Image Credit: Jonathan Bowers on Unsplash


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page