top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

Dealing With Fake Friends

Joleen Cope

Staff Reporter

There are many challenges we have to face throughout school and life in general. Something many people have had to go through in life is fake friends. Ever since quarantine, it seems like many people have finally decided to show their true colors, most of them have not been too good.

I have had my fair share of fake friends, especially right before school started back up. Trust me, I know it is difficult to get through, but it gets easier as time goes on. It would probably be easier if you can point out the fake ones from the real ones instead of taking years to find out your best friends have been using you. Although, it is not that easy, there are a few ways to tell if your friends are fake before it is too late.

For one, if you are starting to feel like trash every day after hanging out with them, that is probably a red flag. A friend is supposed to be there for you when times are rough and build you up when you are feeling down. If you notice they are just walking all over you, then drop them. I know it is probably not my place to tell you what to do but I think you will be a lot happier if you listen to me on this one.

Fake friends are very draining of your energy and time. Nobody deserves that. If you have any suspicion that any of your besties have been fake, talk to them about it. If they get super defensive, they are probably mad because you called them out on it. If they are real friends, they will take their time to talk through it with you without getting mad and you guys will work through it. Do not waste your time on people who are just going to argue about it, it is not worth it, trust me.

Personally, I would much rather just have enemies then fake friends because I know what they are about. There will always be people that hate you for no reason, that is just how life works. There is something especially important that you should keep in mind though. If you drop any of your friends because they are fake, do not be crazy about it. If it is done it is done. Do not post it all over social media and definitely do not destroy their stuff after things break off. Be the bigger person and return their stuff and silence the situation.

If any of you are going through this trust me when I say, it does get better and once you get rid of those who are toxic you will be a lot happier. Be sure to put your own wellbeing first.

Image Credit: Drew Hays on Unsplash


1 view0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page