top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

Birds of Prey: Movie Review

Vanessa Morales

Staff Reporter

Watching movies is a fun way to pass the time. Frankly, I watch movies to procrastinate. However, my favorite movie would have to be Birds Of Prey directed by Cathy Yan. Birds Of Prey came out in 2020 and I went to see it in theaters before the whole pandemic happened. It has all the traits a movie needs to make me laugh, cry, and feel inspired. While it was not a 10/10 in the public’s eye, it was still a 10/10 in mine.

The movie begins with the DC villain we know as Harley Quinn and a whole narrative told by her on how her life has turned a new way. She explains that she broke up with the Joker and how her break up took a big toll in her life. As the movie showed her struggles, she later meets different women with their own strengths and backstories. Once she has been acquainted with each of the women, they are all led back to the antagonist that they all want to get rid of. Eventually they team up to try and defeat him. I am not going to share many details on the movie but if this story sounds interesting enough, feel free to go watch it.

I personally enjoyed how Harley Quinn’s narration was animated in the beginning. I also like how the movie has unique characters, because I feel like it makes their dialogue more interesting to see or hear. The movie had a lot of amazing action scenes and I applaud the way they made me think they were realistic despite the fact that they were not. My favorite scene in the movie would have to be the one in the beginning, where she blows a factory up to show the world that she is no longer connected to her ex. While the scene may have made some villains go after her since she showed she does not have a connection with the Joker, I feel like it was an empowering thing for her to do as she was hopelessly devoted to the Joker and he was nothing but cruel to her..

While I have no experience in movie making, I do believe the movie was nicely made overall. I encourage others to watch it if they have not seen Birds of Prey. Harley Quinn, the protagonist, has a lot to work through but I believe she is a very inspiring character because she owns up to who she is and does not hesitate to get things done when needed to. Feel free to have your own opinion on the movie but personally, it leaves me inspired.

Image Credit: screenrant.com


2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page