top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

"Anything Can Happen"

Trinity Clark

Assistant Editor-In-Chief

I never really understood it when people said, “Anything can happen.” I thought that it was quite a silly expression. Without some divine intervention, there is a limit to the number of things that can actually occur. However, as I am sitting in my room writing this article that I never thought I would be writing, I am starting to understand what those people meant.

Before all of this, I was sticking to a pretty tight schedule that was rarely thrown a curveball. At the time it seemed that some things were always for sure. I would wake up at 5am, get ready for school, go to my classes, sweat through track practice and work every weekend. It never occurred to me that my last day of school this year was going to be on March 13 and that my schedule would be thrown out the door. Just by writing that I feel as dramatic as those who have been telling me “anything can happen Trinity.” However, for every time I rolled my eyes at them, the COVID-19 pandemic has proven me to be naïve.

This is not to say that I am in such a state of shock that I no longer can function through this strange time, but it is to say that I am paying much closer attention to what is around me. For example, I have been talking a lot more with my family. This provides me with both closure because they are familiar to me and helps me feel more in control of something since I can help them if they are feeling down.

The recent quarantine order has made it so that I am forced to slow down and actually think of things to do instead of checking my schedule and letting it decide. Taking the time to make those beaded bracelets for my mom was really nice and going out for a lot more runs with my dogs and brothers has also been really refreshing. Things like this really are what I never expected to happen right now. Another way that this COVID-19 pandemic has shifted my view is that it really brought to light those who are the most important to me.

I find myself reaching out more and more to the ones I care about because I realize that I regret not enjoying my time with them while I still had to option to see them. Another thing I never thought would happen. On the other side, when this all ends, I now have a good idea about what I want to spend more of my time on and how that schedule I used to live by is, quite simply put, not important enough. Thank you for reading my melodramatic spiel on how this quarantine has affected me and I really hope everyone can find some positives during this quarantine!

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page