top of page
  • Ironwood Eagle's Eye

A Review of The Melodic Blue

Andrew Prince

Staff Reporter

From Hearts and Darts to appearing on Kanye West's Donda, Baby Keem's rise to fame has been equally meteoric and well-deserved.

The Melodic Blue is our next entry into a story that has fans wondering where Keem will go next after listening to his debut album and still has a lot of questions about him. I still don’t know what his strengths are as an artist, or what topic I would prefer to hear him tackle in his music, but what I do know is that Keem is only 20 years old and has plenty of time to reach his amazing potential.

Keem's vocal style surpasses even his cousin in numbers and variation. Equally, in the moments where he gets real, his regular inflexion is just as convincing. Scapegoats is a time-stopping interlude with white-robed background vocals and a manipulated chop of a serpentwithfeet song. Lodged in the middle of it, perhaps clashing too much with the sample vocals, Keem darts around subject matter in a tight verse, the highlight being when he neatly raps about brushing off the petty nonsense and staying focused on the long-term.

The amount of moments of contemplation, away from the mosh pit benefits the listenability of the album, though its overall sequencing is blotchy and still more like a mixtape. For example, why do the cool, aquamarine tracks first order of business and 16 sit on either side of one of the most lyrically and sonically volcanic tracks on the album? That is what keeps it from being something stellar, but as a debut showcase, it does the job of uncovering more of his spectrum. Personally, I feel like the album was not horrible for a debut album. Keem is only a twenty-year-old. This album shows you that Keem could honestly become an influence. Trademark usa is a very good first track and is a great start to the album. I give it a 5/5. pink panties is the first official track, besides the intro, but it is also a decent 3.5/5. scapegoats is the most heart felt, more thought out track by keem very solid song so i give it a 5/5.

Range brothers with Kendrick Lamar is probably the funniest track on the album, it is fun catchy and got a lot of attention. I give it a 5/5. issues is a good song , Keem did a well done job on the track, it is a solid 4/5.

Gorgeous is a track I am still not sure on, I like it but do not at the same time; I have mixed feelings on it. But it is not the worst, so I would give it a 3.5/5. south africa is just a song I enjoyed a lot on this album. I love the hook, which a lot of people did not. The verses were adequate and I would give it a 4/5.

Lost souls is well produced and put together. Keem is very young compared to his rap and hip hop peers, but I see what his vision is on this track. I rate it a 4/5. family ties with Kendrick Lamar was the second single off of The Melodic Blue. I love this track so much, it is an instant 5/5. durag activity with Travis Scott; hated this song, but it has a good vibe in the car, it gets a 4/5. booman, vent, and 16,were the best three closing out songs, each shining, especially 16.

The album as whole was very upstanding and I loved it, I give it an 8/10

Image Credit: Spotify



0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page